“One Size” does NOT ‘FIT ALL’!

7 Feb

As I spend time reading, learning, searching and DOING nutrition, I’m finding the lie behind, ‘one size fits all’ that is sold to us EVERYDAY, from one article on health to the next…from one clothing brand to the next…from one way to parent to the next…it simply isn’t TRUE.

What works for ONE KID, doesn’t always work for another, in teaching, in learning, in speaking to who they are. We are ALL DIFFERENT! Why would we expect that ONE thing should work for all of us?

Reading through “Eat 4 (for) Your Blood Type, I see how and why that applies to dieting/lifestyle/food choices, as well. And I’m still amazed. I take a very ‘God CREATED the world’ position on life. I am not a person that subscribes to evolution…I see in our world, every day where God has DELIGHTED in US…and honestly, the PURPOSEFUL DESIGN of FOOD and HOW IT WORKS IN OUR BODIES simply fills me with joy.

Scientifically speaking, you can go ahead and disagree with me about ‘God’ and ‘design’…but look at the science of life. The effects REAL food has on our bodies…it’s astounding! Our bodies truly have the ability to HEAL themselves. We have simply forgotten HOW TO LISTEN TO THEM.

I cannot believe how MUCH TRUST I have put into food manufacturers and our government, and all the producers in our country (world) that have seduced us in, with ease of use, lazy living and basically death. Between packaged and processed foods, they’ve STRIPPED the TRUE NUTRITION OUT OF FOOD and REPLACED it with MAN MADE NUTRIENTS (if you can call them that)…and killed our bodies ability to take care of itself…!

I look at my babies formula…and see the first ingredient is corn syrup solids…um….really? WHEN DID THIS BECOME ACCEPTABLE? And when did I stop paying attention?

That won’t happen anymore.

Call me crazy. Go ahead. It IS different. But the truth is, I would rather SUPPORT my body and its immune system and it’s organs and its nervous system, WHOLLY…rather than blindly trust ‘them’ to take care of me and my family. That’s MY job, and quiet honestly, I can do it way better than anyone else…It’s just time I took responsibility and DID IT!

Do you ever just stop and think, “How did this happen?”…? Look around, at your body, at your kids, and your husband…at your friends.

I’ll tell you the most common responses I get when I start talking about VEGETABLES…and green smoothies.

“I could never do that.”

“That’s gross. I hate…(fill in the blank)…”

“I could never give up bacon!!!”

“I love (fill in the blank), I could never stop eating (fill in the blank)!”

“That looks nasty!”

It’s like talking to a bunch of deaf people. And all I’m doing is sharing about what I’M doing…and sharing what a difference it’s made in my life…and I think…Ok…NOW I see how ‘we’ became the way we have…we walked through our worlds ‘field of poppies’, as they did in Oz.  It’s time to MOW THE LAWN and get our capes on! Take charge of WHAT WE ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR and TO.

My responses:

“I could never do that.”    

Ok. Don’t.

“That’s gross. I hate…(fill in the blank)…”        

It’s not like (blank) is the only vegetable in the world.

“I could never give up bacon!!!”      

We all have priorities.

“I love (fill in the blank), I could never stop eating (fill in the blank)!”  

It’s called self-discipline. Try it sometime, you might like it.

“That looks nasty!”                                                                                                                

I know, right?! LOL LOL LOL

Those aren’t my ONLY responses…I have a few more…but I’m trying to be sensitive and NOT give the appearance that I know it all, or think “my way is ‘the only way’…”…I don’t think that at all…I just think it’s amazing how we pigeon-hole ourselves into INACTION and INABILITY to DO and CHOOSE different by the words we speak and the way we think.

So, don’t think that I think you have to do what I do…I’m just challenging you, and everyone I meet…(lol) to THINK about what they are DOING…period.

Eat? THINK!

Drink? THINK!

Speak? THINK!

Do? THINK!

If you don’t know HOW to THINK, ask Someone. 😉

In our home I am CHANGING the way we USED to live, to be PURPOSEFUL…ON PURPOSE! (No, I haven’t read, “Purpose Driven Life”…but I’m sure I should…LOL).

Rather than mindless eating, I am teaching my children to NOURISH their bodies and ENJOY what they eat. Sure, they can have a piece of cake, but ENJOY it. Don’t SCARF (sorry, I have scarfers…gotta get on to the ‘next thing’! boys.) Eat on purpose. If it’s NOT to nourish, it’s to ENJOY. Being MINDFUL is SIMPLE. Not easy, but simple. And I think it’s IMPORTANT

I don’t look at my A Blood Type “AVOID” foods as a loss…I look at them as DODGING A BULLET! I mean, REALLY!? Why WOULD I POISON myself, when I can find a gazillion items on my “HIGHLY BENEFICIAL” list that would SUPPORT my BODY and help me slim down to a healthful weight and NOURISH my whole being? Um…I don’t get why this is a hard thing for people to grasp. Aside from ‘timing’…I know sometimes in life, we’re so busy with TRIAGE and trying to function…that living on purpose seems crazy…or doesn’t even cross our minds. I guess that’s where I was, in my ‘before now’ ness.

Where are you in your life? Are you LEARNING to THINK? and THINKING to LEARN? Or are you in SURVIVAL mode?

Be blessed, drop a note.

Karla Marie

2 Responses to ““One Size” does NOT ‘FIT ALL’!”

  1. Aimee February 7, 2012 at 7:56 am #

    I think you are very correct in thinking that one size does not fit all. I think you are absolutely correct in your wondering about when did we all start to notice that so much of the stuff that we buy has been processed to a point of no nutrition. We are supposed to be eating for nutrients, not just taste.
    I look forward to reading more from you.
    Aimee

  2. hollybernabe February 14, 2012 at 9:20 pm #

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/King_Corn_%28film%29
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fast_Food_Nation
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Food,_Inc
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Super_size_me

    Both Fast Food Nation and Supersize Me are have books, too. I haven’t read the book for Fast Food Nation yet, but I did read “Don’t Eat This Book” the book that goes with Supersize Me. All of these movies investigate the food business and what it is we put in our mouths every day. It is extremely appalling. “Don’t Eat This Book” goes much more in depth than Spurlock has time for in the accompanying movie, but both will make your skin crawl.

    The problem for me is that I live in the city, with no room to grow my own veggies (and I’ve got a black thumb, anyway) or animals. In addition, because I’m on a low fixed income, I can’t afford the healthy, organic, fresh from the local grower’s produce or meat. I get stuck with big agri-business, because it is all we can afford. I’ve taken to making my own bread and we don’t really by boxed foods (way too high sodium and other nastiness–it would kill my hubby, since he’s a renal patient), and we do the best we can. But I sure wish I could afford to eat the good stuff.

Leave a Reply

