Nutrition isn’t just for fat Mom’s.

9 Feb

Is that too harsh? 

Does it make it less harsh if I say, “I’m a fat mom.” ?

So, I’m guilty of eating healthy and leaving my family in the dust. In the PAST, I was, at least.

This go-round it’s different. I finally got it. They NEED nutrition to STAY healthy and have strong immune systems. What was I thinking? Hmmmm.

My kids are adjusting well. However, I have exceptional kids. They all really have big hearts and really respect mommy and daddy. We’re blessed. (Commentary from 13, going on 14 year-old daughter: You can put in there, “NOT JUST FOR PRETEND EITHER.”) (lol…lol…she makes me happy with her spunk and stuff.) 

It has been an adjustment, but more than ‘LOOSING’ foods, I have really tried to focus on supporting their whole bodies, while yes, admittedly removing major offenders, such as soda. Wow…and I just looked, the Capri Sun juices I was still allowing them to have, second ingredient, high fructose corn syrup…well, that started the hunt and the discussion about HFCS. Which then led to cleaning out the unnecessary HFCS FILLED beverages we have around, that I’m not interested in feeding my kids anymore. Which led to cleaning my bedroom bookshelf (I had made a mental note to do that last night before bed…so I figured, before I sat down to write an article, I better get my behind in there and do that.) I cataloged all the books on my shelf (LOVE LOVE LOVE my BOOKBUDDY app for my iPhone!). I dusted, organized and thinned out the ‘library’. Well, then it was time to find out what was for dinner…and I got sidetracked with the rice cereal my son dropped on the kitchen floor when he got the babies food. So, I vacuumed it up…and ended vacuuming the whole kitchen floor.

I finally made it to the fridge, and ended up having to clean it out…lol…and succumbed to my daughters idea of grilled cheese for dinner. Phewy, dinner was ‘dealt’ with…So, I sat down again, tried to finish writing today’s article…while waiting for the blender and juicer to be washed. I jumped back up and made the smoothie (oh, oh, and FRESH juiced grapefruit juice with ginger…num num.)…then hubby made it home. 

SIDE NOTE:

today’s smoothie was

pineapple juice

pineapple chunks

two juiced apples

a kiwi

tons of spinach

a cup and a half of blueberries

and a large sliver of ginger

Oh, yum yum yummy!

The boys came in, after running to the dump for a trash run, and said, “Can you please take us on a snow machine (or snowmobile, for you Lower 48 people….LOL…lol) ride!?” .. .. .. So, I did! 

Several hours later, I’m back…and I’ll get back on topic…k? 

Is that too harsh? 

Does it make it less harsh if I say, “I’m a fat mom.” ?

So, I’m guilty of eating healthy and leaving my family in the dust. In the PAST, I was, at least.

This go-round it’s different. I finally got it. They NEED nutrition to STAY healthy and have strong immune systems. What was I thinking? Hmmmm.

I am really enjoying this journey, along with my children. It’s a lifetime of health and then from there, likely, generations of health. I’m just sayin’. It makes me happy.

Healthful eating, healthful living is a family affair. I mean, really…I want my husband around as long as I can have him. Right? And my kids…well, sheesh…it all makes sense to me. I’m loving this new adventure. Shaking off the shackles of the ‘food chain’ of earlier life. Removing the wool from our eyes and our putting our thinking caps on. We can do this. And it’s fun.

The last time “YOU” went on a diet, or decided to eat healthier…did you include your family? Do they revolt? Does your husband refuse to eat ‘healthful’ food? Do you struggle finding ways to improve their diet without freaking them out? Do you, like me, try to control the amount of information that flows in about food and our manufacturers and food processors? That way you don’t freak out and stop eating? Or find yourself curled in a ball, rocking back and forth with trust issues…all over again.? LOL LOL

Where are YOU on your journey? Not just food, but life?

Be blessed.

KMD

My list of NEW things I’ve done lately:

Snow machining with my boys. (2x)

Playing outside in the full moonlight with my children.

Racing around the parking lot at the grocery store, pushing my son around like a crazy person.

Kinect Adventure on the Xbox 360

*Kettleball Workout

Leave a Reply

