Ok…so BACK to the ONE SIZE does NOT FIT ALL topic.

12 Feb

So, I may have to revisit this topic often.

I thought I ‘got it’…but I was hit with an unexpected response the other day, and I lost sight of ‘One Size does NOT FIT ALL’…and I flubbed.

I was visiting a friend, and I off-handedly mentioned the book I was looking at, and asked if my friend had ever heard of it. She very quickly, in a not so delicate manner shared her,  ahem, MAJOR DISINTEREST in my book, ‘eating right 4 your blood type’…

Don’t get me wrong…she’s a really nice woman. I like her a LOT…and our daughters are friends.

But I think, since I was pretty much basically mentioning it in reference to MY life and merely asking if she’d heard of it…her response really SHOCKED me…and left me feeling ‘defensive’…if you will. I had brought my book with me, because I was still writing my shopping list, and I was trying to be sure I was looking for new items to try on my ‘HIGHLY BENEFICIAL’ list. That’s all. I wasn’t there, trying to convert her…or tell her my way was the only way…or anything.

However, her DEEPLY emotional response left me stunned. I stuttered, “Uh, why do you feel that way?”

She replied, “I just know that there are foods I am NOT willing to give up. So, why bother.”

Ok…right….I remember, I got this…”So, don’t”….Right?

I wasn’t asking HER to do it. I wasn’t implying she should. I was sharing.

HOWEVER…what I really started to realize is, as people,

  1. We are constantly ‘comparing’ what WE do to what OTHERS do, and reconciling it…and evaluating it.
  2. People TEND to think, “I know it all”, or “So and so THINKS they know it all” therefore, we have preëmptive responses.
  3. Peoples relationship with FOOD is almost as intimate as their, ahem, excuse me for saying so, but, really…their sex lives.

Ok…chew on that for a second.

Breathe.

Just think.

Ok…What do YOU say to that?

Anyhoo…after her very clear statement that she was in no way interested in even HEARING about ‘ER4YBT’….the shock of her response sent me into a defensive tailspin. When she replied she wasn’t willing to change what she was doing, I could have just left it. Should have. But I didn’t. Because that’s not how I see the concept of ER4YBT…I see it as an arsenal of tools that I can arm myself with, that equips my body to DO WHAT IT’S DESIGNED TO DO. Fine, if you’re gonna eat ‘whatever you want’…doesn’t it make sense to support your body the best you can?

Yes…I should’ve left it at, “I am not interested, and I don’t even want to hear about it!”

I will, as well, in the future.

And, as I think about it more and as I research more, I will keep in mind what I’ve come to understand/believe about people and their food relationships. I have one. I had one. I like my new one better. Plain….simple.

What kind of relationship do YOU have with FOOD?

Is food a fill in for something that’s missing?

Is food a stimulant that is purely pleasurable and comforting?

Is food a tool?

A medicine?

A purposeful part of your life and lifestyle?

Be blessed.

2 Responses to “Ok…so BACK to the ONE SIZE does NOT FIT ALL topic.”

  1. Teri Karl February 12, 2012 at 6:51 pm #

    So, what DID you say to her??? (Just curious.) 🙂 I am still figuring out my relationship with food.

    • KarlaMarie February 13, 2012 at 7:16 am #

      I asked her why she felt that way, of course, and she replied the wasn’t willing to change or give up certain stuff…so why bother with it?
      I responded, “Well, the way I look at it, it’s not about giving up stuff, it’s about supporting your body the best you can, so when you DO eat those ‘things’ your bodies able to deal with it better.”

Leave a Reply

