PRODUCT REVIEW: Ninja Kitchen System

14 Feb

NINJA KITCHEN SYSTEM

Sam’s Club $136.58

Plus 1 year warranty $9.72

$146.30

Ninja Kitchen System

Ok. So…I just reviewed the Ninja Master Prep Pro. And from that glowing review one might think, WOW! This can only get BETTER!

Yeah.

That’s what I THOUGHT, too.

Sadly, it isn’t so.

This machine is POWERFUL.

However, it is INEFFECTIVE! What’s the point of all that POWER if it isn’t being USED?

The shape of the pitchers leaves space for items, such as pineapple wedges, to just hang out and NOT get blended. So, I was constantly having to open the VERY SAFETY oriented lid to reach in and push my food down farther. That didn’t work as well as I’d hoped, either. I ended up having to add more water than I wanted/needed because that was the only way the blades would ‘include’ the pineapple into the blending process.

Also, the blades are so powerful that what ends up happening as well is basically the food gets ‘juiced’.

Gross.

JUICERS are for juicing. That way at least with a JUICER the FIBER and BULK and such are DISCARDED. Not so with the blender.

My green smoothies were TERRIBLE. I’ve made smoothies pretty much EVERY DAY for over a month with the Ninja Master Prep Pro…NO PROBLEMS EVER WITH ANYTHING. NEVER had that gross juicing effect.

What happens with the NKS ‘juices’ my smoothie is a HUGE LAYER of ‘fiber’ settles on the top of my glass, and the juices settle on the bottom, leaving a nasty 4, 5 and even SIX INCH LAYER OF GROSSNESS in my 24 oz. cup. 😦

Sad face.

I won’t even go into the rest of the ‘amazing’ options that the NKS had (had) to offer, because after the second go around with my green smoothies and the HUGE EPIC FAIL, there was no way I was keeping this gadget in my house.

I am not a huge fan of returning things. Honestly, I just don’t want to take the time or deal with the hassle. HOWEVER, I washed, and loaded this unit up IMMEDIATELY after the ‘second chance’…it’s going back TODAY.

There is a ton of other options that this unit has to offer, but the way I see it, if it doesn’t do the MAIN thing I want it for, it’s value drops. AND, if it’s not picking up the fruits and veggies in the pitcher the way it should, I doubt it’d work effectively enough to do a good job with the dough paddle and the cookie dough paddle and the whisk paddle. The pitcher is not conducive to good blending/mixing/doughing. 😉

Honestly, BIG TWO THUMBS DOWN.

Too bad…it had so much potential. The blade assembly is the kind I enjoy, with the blades being removable for ease of access to your finished product, be it smoothie or peanut butter or what have you.

The power was unquestionable.

The additional options were seductive.

The design…FLAWED.

Be blessed.

Thanks for checkin’ out my reviews.

One Response to “PRODUCT REVIEW: Ninja Kitchen System”

  1. John Harris March 6, 2012 at 3:01 am #

    Thank you soooooo much for reviewing both of these and comparing/contrasting them!!! I’ve looked all over the internet and as far as I can tell, you are the only person to have done so. I have been wanting to start on green smoothies for two years now but I just was not going to buy a subpar blender, and could not afford a Blendtec or Vitamix (starving college student budget). I had nearly decided to just buy the higher wattage traditional blender style Ninja when I came across your reviews, which have made the decision infinitely easier to make.

Leave a Reply

