It’s not about ‘what I can’t eat’…it’s about being MINDFUL.

17 Feb

Hello, all.

So, it’s been a while.

I have been rather busy this last week. But there are some fun things I wanted to share.

Interesting may be a better term.

So…I have really been diggin’ eating more healthful food and eating for my blood type…but I’ve been trying to keep a ‘level head’ about it. Not thinking, “I can’t have THIS food, or I can’t have THAT food.” Instead, I’m really viewing food as “How can I best support my body and it’s functions?” and “Be MINDFUL about what goes in my mouth and WHY.”

So, the other night, I went out with friends for a girls night…Dinner and a Hockey game. YAY!

Well, the restaurant of choice was Indian food. Well, I couldn’t believe that pretty much EVERYTHING on the menu had AT LEAST ONE if not an ENTIRE selection of foods on my AVOID list…(Remember, AVOID for the Eat for Your Blood Type responds in our bodies as ‘poison’ for one reason or another, ie. doesn’t metabolize well, or stores as fat, or hard on my blood types digestive system, etc…)…so, I found ONE meal that was ‘ok’. Yay me. 🙂

While we were eating, I thought, ‘You know…this whole food thing isn’t about what I can’t have…just to have fun, I’ll try a bit of my friends’ meals, so I can say I tried them.’…”MINDFULNESS: Enjoy the food and company.” (Right?)

So, I did. I had a BITE or TWO (no more) of each of the other three’s dinners. Each one had a few things on my AVOID list…but what the heck, right?

I WAS SICK AS A DOG! I felt like I had the FLU! Oh my gosh. My heartburn returned. My tummy was upset. I was sweating like a crazy person. I felt FLUish! It wasn’t food poisoning…well, not ‘food poisoning’ but it was ‘poison food’ for my body. And since I’ve been really adhering to my list, I have felt amazing, and not had heartburn (which I’d suffered with for about 8 1/2 months since baby was born…EVERY DAY!). It was amazing.

Needless to say, I learn those lessons rather easily…I don’t enjoy feeling sick, when I CAN AVOID IT…that’s why I’ve only had two hangovers in my LIFE…! I am a wuss. I don’t LIKE to CHOOSE to feel like crap. 😉

I have really embraced eating veggies for the majority of my nourishment and love how I feel. I love knowing what does what to me and my body. And why.

What have you been up to? What healthful changes are you making? Or considering making?

Today my kiddlets are a little under the weather…so I am going to feed their ‘colds’ with amazing chicken soup…full of ginger, and garlic and chicken breast. Some delish veggies: carrots, celery, maybe some rice. 🙂 Brown rice. Just for fun and stuff. They will drink lemon water. Mmm mmm. And perhaps a smoothie. 🙂

Be blessed.

KarlaMarie

 

 

Leave a Reply

