You are (a product of) what you eat.

3 Apr

So, obviously, I’m not a salmon…or a miniature tree (a.k.a.: Broccoli). Yet, I do carry around the product of those foods…each nutrient that my body breaks down and uses to repair, nourish and heal my cells, bones, everything. The balance food can bring, and the havoc it can wreak on a body is AMAZING!

When I was eating foods that are INFLAMMATORY, I suffered a lot.

I still deal with sleep apnea. That’s not fun. However, I have been doing better. Just some days it’s bad. Waking up in the middle of the night, from not breathing. Headache. Thankfully, though, not as often.

One of the things I haven’t mentioned in much/any detail is the fact that I have removed SUGAR (refined, white, added) from my life, for the  most part. I’ve had several cups of coffee, in attempts to ‘enjoy’ myself while making changes for the better…and I’m a die hard (well, I WAS a die hard coffee drinker, but I’m also VERY PARTICULAR with my coffee preparation. 4 teaspoons of sugar, two tablespoons of half and half…SEVERAL times a day. I’d usually have 3-4 cups of coffee…ahem. If you do the math…it’s horrifying. I’ll do it for you.

4 teaspoons of sugar 3 times a day = 12 teaspoons of sugar a day (on a low day) (NOT COUNTING ANY ADDED SUGAR in processed foods I’d eat…DON’T EVEN get me started…THAT’S HORRIFYING!)

12 teaspoons of sugar a day times 35 days = 420 teaspoons

Since I’ve been cutting back, and eventually ELIMINATED my sugar intake, I’ve had 88 teaspoons of sugar, in the 35 day period.

Cutting my sugar by 332 teaspoons, not to mention ALL of the processed sugar! WHICH IS UNFATHOMABLY LARGE AMOUNT! I don’t EVEN want to think about it! Cutting sugar cuts INFLAMMATION! YAY!

So, chop! Cutting down my sugar. NEXT. I cut out flour and wheat. WOW, me!

Sugar.

Wheat.

Processed/ready made foods.

OH! And no milk products, either! Really. Especially compared to before.

Rice, potatoes. No more of those.

I just wanted to share that. I hadn’t really talked about it. So, my basic meals consist of fresh veggies, fruit, minimally processed meat (meaning, just butchered and cut up).

Better sleep. Dealing with stress. Walking more. Building muscle.

I feel like a superhero.

 

One Response to “You are (a product of) what you eat.”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Latest post from Learning to Think, Thinking to Learn. | Golden Heart Homeschoolers of Alaska - April 3, 2013

    […] Like I’m cheating on my homeschooling blog (even though I wasn’t really posting here before). So, I’m going to link my latest post from LTT, TTL.  […]

Leave a Reply

